The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap & Red Velvet Crackle Cookies

12 Dec

When I saw that food bloggers Lindsay and Julie decided to do a Massive Cookie Swap, I jumped at the chance to be apart! This swap connected me with so many food bloggers, and I even got to meet a blogger that lives in the same area as me. I also am now apart of Minnesota Food Bloggers! All because of this swap! I posted on my Twitter account of being a little intimidated by the (seriously amazing) professional bakers I got to send my cookies to!

The requirements of this swap were to send a dozen cookies to 3 bloggers you were matches up with and you in return get 3 batches from three different bloggers.

I sent cookies to-

Ashley of www.joshandashleysworld.com
Latisha of www.spicedwithlove.com
Amanda of www.thinlyslicedcucumber.com

I hope you liked them ladies! And I hope they arrived in one piece. I am going hardcore next year with tins, tons of bubble wrap, and boxes.

The cookies I received

Cinnamon and Sugar Rugalach cookies from Michelle at Red Pepper Green Pepper
(I had never had rugalach but I WILL be making these! SO delicious!)

Cinnamon & Caramel cookies from Wendy at My Sweet Zepol
(These were delicious dipped in coffee!)

Chocolate Mint Kiss cookies from Dorothy at Crazy for Crust
(I opened the box and was hit with the lovely smell of mint. These were moist and wonderful!)

I decided to send a sturdy cookie that would also stay soft if they did not arrive for a few days. I decided to make Red Velvet Crackle Cookies!

Red Velvet Crackle Cookies

  • 1 box Red Velvet Cake Mix
  • 8 oz container Cool Whip
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar

Make sure you don’t wear white or clothes you like while making these!

Preheat oven to 350°, in medium bowl beat cool whip, egg and cake mix until well blended. Dough will be thick and sticky. Drop by spoonfuls into a bowl of powdered sugar and roll to coat. Place on parchment lined cookie sheet and bake for 10 minutes or until the tops of the cookies are not moist.

Ps – I had almost as much fun making the tags for these cookies as I did making the actual cookies :)

All and all this was an amazing experience and I loved every minute of it. I am sad its over, but I already have ideas for the cookies I will send next year.

**If you would like more information on The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap or would like to participate in the 2012 swap, click here**

5 Responses to “The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap & Red Velvet Crackle Cookies”

  1. Amanda @ Thinly Sliced Cucumber December 12, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    April, these cookies were amazing! They were the first ones that I received in the mail and 24-hours later they were gone! I will definitely be making these soon. The recipe looks really simple – something you would never guess when you bite into them. Thank you so much for sharing these wonderful cookies.

    • aprilasutch December 17, 2011 at 8:05 am #

      I’m so glad you liked them Amanda!

  2. Dorothy @ Crazy for Crust December 12, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    Those red velvet crackle cookies look amazing! Yummy!

  3. LaTisha December 16, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    They did arrive in one piece and they were delicious

    • aprilasutch December 17, 2011 at 8:06 am #

      Oh good! I was hoping you enjoyed them!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 396 other followers

