White Chicken Enchiladas

25 Nov

My name is April and I am becoming a Pinterest addict! I find things on Pinterest and I MUST make them. I hadn’t really been in the cooking or grocery shopping mood for a couple of weeks but Pinterest has rekindled my love for all things cooking. A few days ago I found a Pin for White Chicken Enchiladas [ Original Pin: http://pinterest.com/pin/144959681725549497 ] and I was suddenly set on them. I modified the recipe a little and voila! Dinner.

I know that we all get busy [especially in November/December] and need easy meal planning ideas. Pinterest has SO many ideas, I have even meal planned brand new meals for the 2 weeks. If you are in a cooking lull, or need a new recipe, I am telling you – Pinterest will spark your interest!

White Chicken Enchiladas

  • 6 soft taco size flour tortillas
  • 2 cups shredded Monterrey jack cheese, divided
  • 2 cups shredded cooked chicken (I used part of a store-bought rotisserie)
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1 can chicken broth
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 (7 oz) can diced green chiles


Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Spray a 8×8 inch baking pan with cooking spray; set aside.  Mix the chicken together with 1 cup of the cheese and 2 spoonfuls of green chilis. Distribute the chicken and cheese mixture evenly among the tortillas.  Roll up and place seem side down in the prepared pan. In a large saucepan, melt the butter. Add the flour; cook and stir for 1 minute. Add the chicken broth, whisking until smooth.  Stir in the sour cream and diced green chiles. Pour the sauce in an even layer over the enchiladas.  Sprinkle with remaining cheese. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until golden and bubbly.

Leave a Reply

