Eggnog French Tortillas

5 Dec

This week was…. brutal. Work, family stuff, work, sleep (sort of), cookie swap, work, work, work, work. Sunday night when it was all over, I found myself rummaging through my kitchen for anything that I could eat. And I really wanted French Toast. After about 5 minutes I realized I hadn’t been to the grocery store lately. No milk. 1 egg. No bread. I almost gave up until I spotted the Egg Nog and tortillas. If I were a cartoon character you would have seen a light bulb go off above my head. When all was said and done I was left with what I will now call “Eggnog French Tortillas”and they were more than good. I love when you have barely anything in your kitchen and then you throw something together and it works! But I think, for the good of my husbands stomach, that I should go to the grocery store tomorrow.

Eggnog French Tortillas

  • 4 Small Flour Tortillas
  • 1 Large Egg
  • 1/2 Cup Egg Nog (Can use 2% Milk)
  • Cinnamon
  • Corn Syrup (to drizzle, can use regular syrup)

In a medium bowl combine egg and egg nog with a whisk until blended. Soak one of the tortillas for about 2 minutes, longer than you would soak bread. Heat a non stick skillet on medium heat and add a small amount of butter. Place tortilla in skillet and cook until brown, about 2 minutes per side. When all tortillas are cooked, wrap as you would crepes then sprinkle with cinnamon and corn syrup.

PS – Since these tortillas are more crepe like than toast like, you could fill them. I am thinking of using milk instead of the eggnog next time and adding some nutella inside.

Leave a Reply

