Homemade Vanilla

8 Dec

Wow does my house smell like vanilla! I love it. I found a recipe for Homemade Vanilla and I could not believe how easy it was. Just 2 ingredients? Sold.  I set out to find some vanilla beans a few weeks ago and I finally found them at Kitchen Window (I found the jars there too} and I decided to make 3 jars of vanilla. This is stage 1, making vanilla takes about 2 months. This is just the beginning, so there will be posts from time to time updating the status of said vanilla. I am SO excited to see how this turns out!

Homemade Vanilla Extract

  • 2 Vanilla Beans
  • 8 ounces of Vodka (unflavored)
  • 8 ounce jar

Cut the vanilla beans in half and put them in the jar. Pour vanilla up to the top and seal very tightly. Shake the jar for 2 minutes and set in a very dark place. Remember to shake the vanilla at least once every few days. After 2 months the jar will be dark and you may take the beans out and throw them away. Yield – 1 8oz jar of Vanilla Extract

Leave a Reply

