Peanut Butter Bars

27 Dec

Recently I was in my hometown of Bismarck, ND where, of course, my childhood nostalgia lives. When I am there I remember things about my childhood – somewhat randomly. This time, my sister turned down a street and I remembered my friend Amanda and I being “on strike” at our lemonade stand. Later we passed the gas station where my brother and I used to stash our bikes behind a dumpster because we were not allowed to go to that particular gas station without our parents (hope my mom isn’t reading this). And lastly, we drove by my best friend Danielle’s Dads house.

I remembered how one day, her Dad found out about my love peanut butter cups and promptly bought a box of Reese’s no bake peanut butter bars. I am sure you have seen them at the grocery store. Baking aisle, has a pan in said box that you don’t bake them in, etc. These were the best things ever.

When we drove down the street she used to live on, I smiled and thought of all the memories we had “no-baking” those bars. Chocolate all over the place, eating the bars when they weren’t really set, having her brother record us “baking”. It was ridiculous, and it made me want to make a homemade version of those bars. So, I did.

Peanut Butter Bars

  • 1 bag of milk chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup of peanut butter
  • 1/8 cup of powdered sugar

Melt half of the chocolate chips in the microwave for 1 minute, spread into a buttered 8×8 pan and freeze for 10 minutes. Mix together peanut butter and powdered sugar, pour over frozen chocolate. Freeze peanut butter for additional 10 minutes before topping with other half of melted chocolate chips. Freeze for one hour and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

