Pretzel Bites & Cheese Dip

29 Dec

What did you do for New Years Eve last year? I was with my fiance and friends, ringing in what I knew would be a great year. And 2012 is going to be even better. Last year I made our dinner which consisted of Chicken Wild Rice Soup, Cranberry Walnut Lettuce Wraps, Meat and Cheese Trey, and I can’t remember what else. Champagne, of course.

We are doing the same thing this New Years, ringing in 2012 with friends, food, champagne. But what should I bring to the table? I am thinking appetizers this year… pin wheel sandwiches, spinach dip… I don’t actually know what I will make yet. BUT, I will make these Pretzel Bites. They are delicious – and so is the cheese dip. If you are you looking for something for your New Years spread, I have just the thing for you.

Pretzel Bites

  • 1 loaf of frozen bread dough
  • Melted butter
  • Sea Salt

Let loaf of frozen bread dough thaw and cut into small pieces. Place dough bites on greased sheets and let dough rise until double in size.  Bring a large pot of water to a gentle boil.  When dough has risen, drop 5 pieces into the boiling water, tossing gently for about 45 seconds. Remove with slotted spoon and place bites on paper towels to drain slightly.  Move bites to greased baking sheets, and bake at 375 degrees for about 15 minutes or until done and golden brown. Brush bites with melted butter, sprinkle with Kosher or Sea Salt.

Cheddar Cheese Dip

  • 1/2 Tablespoon butter
  • 1/2 Tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 cup of grated Cheddar Cheese.
Melt the butter in a med. size saucepan over medium heat.  Add the flour and stir until blended.  Slowly whisk in the milk and cook until thickened slightly.  Remove from heat and stir in the Cheddar Cheese until smooth and all of the cheese has melted.
I found the original recipe for pretzel bites here
Giveaway
For my very first giveaway I am giving away 2 bottles of my favorite BBQ sauce and the cookbook “400 Sauces”. 1 winner gets both bottles of sauce and cookbook.
Famous Dave’s Rich & Sassy and Famous Dave’s Sweet & Zesty. Plus 400 Sauces –
This book has helped me ALOT. And you can win your own copy!
Ways to win:
1. Comment on this post and share with me what food you are making for your new years party.
2. Tweet about this giveaway! Copy & Paste the following sentence on twitter:
I want to win BBQ sauce & 400 Sauces cookbook from @AprilSutch! Help me win here —> http://tinyurl.com/bo4s9dv
3. Have your friends comment on this post saying they are voting for YOU.
Each time you comment, tweet, or have a friend vote for you counts as one entry. Winner will be picked on January 2nd.
Leave a Reply

