Lemon Week Day 4 – Lemon Snickerdoodles

9 Mar

“Do you like soft or crunchy cookies?” I thought this was a question I would never have to ask. I love a soft cookie, so I bake all my cookies a little less than I should. Crunchy cookies? No thanks.

When I found out some people enjoy crunchy cookies, I started looking for one that I could enjoy too. There has to be middle ground, right? A cookie that has crunchy edges but is soft in the middle? What cookie? Oh yes. The Snickerdoodle. A cookie no one can turn down. This lemon version of the snickerdoodle true to form, crunchy yet soft.

Lemons Used: 3
Lemons Remaining: 6

Lemon Snickerdoodles

  • 1/2 cup (one stick) unsalted butter, room temperature (but still firm)
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • zest of two large lemons
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup sanding sugar for rolling

Preheat oven to 350, grease large cookie sheet and set aside.

Cream together the butter, lemon zest and sugar on medium-high speed for several minutes until light and fluffy. Mix in the egg and vanilla. Add the baking soda then the flour until combined into dough.

Roll dough into 1″ balls and roll each ball in the course sugar. Bake for 10 – 12 minutes. When cooled, enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Not So Humble Pie

Leave a Reply

