Fig & Goat Cheese Tart

26 Mar

I have to tell all of you how excited I am that spring is here! I looked at the grass today – its GREEN!! I dislike winter so much. I dislike brown grass, snow, and all things that go along with winter. Well, except Christmas of course.

This tart was inspired by my excitement that my cold is subsiding and that there is green grass outside. Of course, I had to use dried figs because, well, spring or not fresh figs don’t show up in stores until mid June. But you can find dried figs anywhere. Anyway, this tart made my day. Heck, it made my spring.

Fig & Goat Cheese Tart

  • 1 sheet puff pastry, thawed
  • 1 package dried figs, re hydrated.
  • 6 oz fresh goat cheese
  • Honey (for drizzling)

First – re hydrate the figs. This is easier than it sounds. All you have to do is soak the figs in hot water for 5 minutes. Drain off the water and pat dry with a paper towel. Make sure the figs are completely dry.

Next, prepare the tart. Make a “window” with a pairing knife – not slicing all the way trough but just enough to make a slit. Poke the middle of the window with the knife a few times to keep the tart from puffing up while baking.

Set the puff pastry on a greased (I used Pam) baking sheet. Cut Figs in half and set inside of your window seed side up.

Bake on the top rack at 400 degrees for 10-15 minutes or until pastry is light brown around the edges. Let cool for 5 minutes, crumble goat cheese on top of the figs. Drizzle honey on top right before serving. Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Fig & Goat Cheese Tart”

  1. Janet March 26, 2012 at 7:58 am #

    yummm 2 of my favorite ingredients!

  2. Jessy Simonson (@FairytaleFrost) March 26, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    OMG You made it! YES!!! I cannot wait to try it myself!

    • aprilasutch March 26, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

      I had to! I kept thinking about it after we talked about. So. Good.

Leave a Reply

