Basil Butter

22 May

A couple of weeks ago I broke my car key. I dropped it on the ground outside of my apartment and somehow, the top of my key where the loop is, broke off. I decided it wasn’t a big deal, I can walk around with all but my car key on my key chains. I can just pull the car key out of my purse when I need it. How long did that last? About a half of a day.

I finally decided to go to Home Depot and get a copy of the key. The parking lot was packed, so I had to park on the side of the building and go in through the garden center. As soon as I walked in, I completely forgot why I was at Home Depot. Basil. Rosemary. Cilantro. Flowers. Trees. Potting soil. Planters. Botany overload! I could smell the fresh herbs! I quickly grabbed a cart and loaded it up with 3 different kinds of herbs (Sweet Basil, Rosemary, and Dill) a long black window planter and some potting soil.

I then, smiling like an idiot, brought the full cart up to the register. I was SO excited when the woman told me that my entire herb garden came to less than $30! Whhhhhhaaaat??? $30 for fresh herbs ALL summer? Done.

I piled my treasure into the car and drove home in a rush. Out on our balcony I put all 3 plants into the planter and lovingly packed the soil around it. At this point I heard my husband come home and yelled “I’m on the balcony! Come see my new herb garden!” He came out on the balcony and said “Cool garden, but where is your new key?” Crap. I completely forgot about the key.

Yes, there was another trip to Home Depot made that night and needless to say, I wasn’t really aloud to go in the garden center.

But aren’t these herbs beautiful??

With my first crop of fragrant sweet basil I made Basil butter. It is amazing on fish, bread, and oh my gosh can you even imagine this on sweet corn? Trust me. Many many many posts will be made with these herbs!

Basil Butter

  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) of salted butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup of fresh chopped sweet basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon minced garlic

Combine all ingredients in a medium-sized bowl, stir until well combined. Spoon butter onto plastic wrap and form into a log shape, twist the ends of the plastic wrap. Place in fridge until ready to use. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

