Peanut Butter Blossoms

6 Dec
Is there a rule that when you blog about food, you must tell a story about said food? I always feel like there has to be a story. I think and think and think until I find the story. Because if you think about it, there is always a story. Because someone said something about a cookie, a pasta, or something and it made you want to make that particular food. Food brings people together, people bring the love, the love brings the memories, and the food always takes you back to those memories.
The story behind these? A certain person (lets call him my husband) told me that they always have peanut butter blossoms this time of year. I took at as a challenge for some reason. I think it is because I have never eaten a great peanut butter blossom. They were always dry or hard. So I accepted the challenge. After these came out of the oven I was so excited that these peanut butter blossoms were actually something I liked! They were soft (thank you white whole wheat flour and melting the butter into the peanut butter) and delicious. I commented to my husband that I don’t really like the hunk of chocolate in the middle and he said “oh, neither do I. I just like the cookie. We laughed that neither of us thought to tell each other that! So next year, I will just make the cookies… and maybe drizzle some chocolate on top.
There is always a story.
Peanut Butter Blossoms
  • Large bag of Hershey kisses
  • 1/2 cup butter (melted)
  • 3/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1-1/2 cupsย  flour (I recommend whole white wheat flour)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Granulated sugar

Heat oven to 375ยฐF. Remove wrappers from chocolates. Beat butter and peanut butter in large bowl until well blended. Add 1/3 cup granulated sugar and brown sugar; beat until fluffy. Add egg, milk and vanilla; beat well. Stir together flour, baking soda and salt; gradually beat into peanut butter mixture. Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Roll in granulated sugar; place on ungreased cookie sheet. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until lightly browned. Immediately press a chocolate into center of each cookie; cookie will crack around edges. Remove from cookie sheet to wire rack. Cool and enjoy!

One Response to “Peanut Butter Blossoms”

  1. Jessica Chavie December 8, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    April, we ALL know these are called Peanut Butter Star cookies and that my mom obviously makes the best ones! ๐Ÿ˜› Just kidding, yours look so beautiful! When we make them with no star, we criss-cross them with a fork so they don’t get all poofy and hard!

Leave a Reply

